Home Browse William Faulkner Books A Summer of Faulkner Contact Us Site Map

Oprah's Book Club, A Summer of Faulkner

Oprah's Book Club has chosen three William Faulkner novels to read for the summer. The first book is As I Lay Dying, This novel is the harrowing account of the Bundren family's odyssey across the Mississippi countryside to bury Addie, their wife and mother. Told in turns by each of the family members-including Addie herself-the novel ranges in mood from dark comedy to the deepest pathos. Originally published in 1930.

The second book is The Sound and the Fury. First published in 1929, Faulkner created his "heart's darling," the beautiful and tragic Caddy Compson, whose story Faulkner told through separate monologues by her three brothers-the idiot Benjy, the neurotic suicidal Quentin and the monstrous Jason.

The third book is Light in August. Light in August, a novel about hopeful perseverance in the face of mortality, features some of Faulkner's most memorable characters: guileless, dauntless Lena Grove, in search of the father of her unborn child; Reverend Gail Hightower, who is plagued by visions of Confederate horsemen; and Joe Christmas, a desperate, mysterious drifter consumed by his mixed ancestry. Originally published in 1932.

Buy the Boxed Set: A Summer of Faulkner
This is a great deal on the box set (40% off).





Oprah's Book Club: A Summer of Faulkner - Oprah discusses William Faulkner and the three books to be read this summer.