Home Browse William Faulkner Books A Summer of Faulkner Contact Us Site Map

The Sound and the Fury

First published in 1929, Faulkner created his "heart's darling," the beautiful and tragic Caddy Compson, whose story Faulkner told through separate monologues by her three brothers-the idiot Benjy, the neurotic suicidal Quentin and the monstrous Jason.




Oprah's Book Club is reading this book and two others this summer. Buy the boxed set for 40% off.